top of page

THE ONE’S WHO HAD THE GUTS TO LEAVE THEIR WAR-TORN COUNTRIES


There are “whispers” of wealthy, healthy young men amongst the women and children. But what is the difference between a refugee and a SA kid leaving to go work a kibbutz? I’m not quite sure why they are not being put to work to grow much needed cheaper food for Africa. In case you haven’t noticed: a waiter gets +- R15 an hour and a loaf of bread is +- R15.


So how do we FORCE the many CEO’s of THE WORLD to listen? Does Social Media really work?


If it did ever work it was surely responsible for the MASSES of people GATHERING at many burns and revisionist camps across the globe in peace. Striving, searching and sending help. Also scouting for talent to help feed, clothe and house.


You’d never say that the many celebrities that drive flashy cars and live in palaces came from the slave trade, if you come to Africa. Here we don’t waste anymore, because we HELP by employing our less fortunate.


Was I fortunate? Very


Was I lucky? Definitely


If it wasn’t for the BURSARY Eskom gave me in the 80’s I would still be stuck in some small town JUST MAKING it.


I live in a small town now, yes, and have travelled to most small towns in SA; and my West Coast exit trip proved beyond a doubt that WE NEED HELP in our small towns.


Luckily help has arrived in the food and clothing department via India. KZN has one of the highest numbers in tourism because typically Indian hospitality, cooking and clothing is, and always has been, far superior. China has been our suppliers for years. Luckily our brothers and sisters from India and Africa insist on quality.


I met up with some Africa Burners over the weekend and my belief that south of the equator seems to be safe has been confirmed.


I have met people from all over THE WORLD and all walks of life; NOT ON FACEBOOK BUT FOR REAL!


NOTHING could have prepared me for the trip I took to the West Coast though. At one stage I really considered just carrying on to my end destination before I EXIT SA. But it would have been a lot less fun and I wouldn’t have met the farming, building, cooking and sewing community of Calvinia, where I got stuck because I did not have BUCKS for BURN.


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page